To whom it may concern

What kind of example are you to those that look up to you? Do you do your best to live a Christ-like life or do you preach water and drink wine? Don’t let this be a letter to you from those that look up to you.

Dear [insert name],

I’m so angry right now, imagining the risks that you take not putting any of us into consideration. while you gamble your life, our lives away for a measly 2 second thrill. Makes me wonder what we are worth really, what you think you’re worth? Is your cheap thrill more important than us?

You keep judging me for the mistakes I make, but you, older and wiser – well age is meant to come with wisdom but clearly not the case for you- but still, how do you judge me. How do you look past all your flaws, all those very stupid things you do with the experience and knowledge you have.  Compared to you I could as well be an amateur at living, are you not meant to be my guide, my mentor? The one to lead and direct my unfocused soul? How do YOU then point your finger at me for not knowing for doing the things I’m expected to do? to learn? For how else do I know it’s wrong if not by trying? If I have no teacher to instruct my untrained mind, what choice do I have but to experiment?

If I fail you only have yourself to blame, if I seem to be lacking, then point that finger at yourself for not giving me that which you see missing in me. For I assure you I’ve done my best and lived as well as I know how.

We all have a responsibility to be examples, as Christians, lovers of God. We are obligated to be the light.

So let’s be the light. Don’t make your brothers stumble and when you’re weak admit you are and find strength in others and in God. For God is strong in our weakness. I t really hurts to imagine someone going to hell because they thought their sin was okay because the Christians they knew did it. It’s a sad thing to imagine and I don’t want to be the one to do that.I know you don’t either so please, let us be the light to the lost. Let us be the ones leading the way. Giving second chances and sharing Gods wonderful grace. Let’s be Christ-ians.

 

“1 Corinthians 8:9-12

9 Be careful, however, that the exercise of your rights does not become a stumbling block to the weak. 10 For if someone with a weak conscience sees you, with all your knowledge, eating in an idol’s temple, won’t that person be emboldened to eat what is sacrificed to idols? 11 So this weak brother or sister, for whom Christ died, is destroyed by your knowledge. 12 When you sin against them in this way and wound their weak conscience, you sin against Christ.”

 

(I wrote the above letter for a completely different purpose but when I read it through I knew it was meant for this)

Leave a Reply

