A heart for missions.

If there’s one thing I’ve always wanted to do ever since I can remember is to be a missionary. I love the idea of going to a new place with a team of  people who love God as much as I do. Interacting with new cultures and communities. The opportunity to grow in my personal faith by encountering others. I don’t really see myself as a preacher or potential preacher, that’s actually never crossed my mind, but just talking to people, teaching little children, helping rebuild homes and schools and just serving has been a passion I haven’t fully exploited.

Apart from a little community service and voluntary work (which I can’t really call a mission), I have yet to go on a mission trip. When I was getting ready to go for one a couple of months ago -which sadly failed to materialize – my mom told me that I’d mentioned wanting to go on a mission trip when I was really young, I can’t even remember that.

It really saddens me now, that I haven’t gone for one yet. So many setbacks but the dream lives on. I believe I have been called and I will go.

Mark 16:15 He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation”

Until then I shall use what I have.

4 thoughts on “A heart for missions.

  1. My dear, if it is true and you spoke those words(about going on mission) when you were young then i would be very excited cause i have no doubt that God planted that desire in you. Sounds like you have a gift of evangilism;-)

    Just keep on giving it to god and putting yourself in a position for him to move you and hang out with others who are on the same page.

    Really enjoyed reading your heart stuff

    • Thanks, I try to be as honest as I can.

      It’s really frustrating though when it doesn’t work out. Praying that I am patient enough to wait for God’s perfect time.

  2. Hey Tracy!

    Repeat after me, I Am A Missionary!

    You are a missionary already to your community.

    When you hear some thing that sounds like a prayer request take the time to say, ” Hey, Can I pray for you?” You don’t even have to close your eyes and make a big to do. Just lift them up to God.

    Where are you writing from?

    If you’re in GA I’d love to take you on a trip of the International Village. I’ll buy you lunch. Check out whirlwindmissions.org for more pictures and information about how we Take the Church, To the People here in the States.

    Love,
    Ash

Leave a Reply

