I am weak.

Today I woke up with a bible verse in my head.

Matthew 26:41 NIV (NIV)

“Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”

I’m sure most of you are familiar with the passage, but for those who are not here is a short summary. Jesus is feeling weak and worn out so he takes Peter and two of His disciple up to the mountain of Gethsemane to pray. When He’s done praying though (it says an hour later), He walks back to the disciples only to find them sleeping. “Couldn’t you men keep watch with me for one hour?” he asked Peter.41 “Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”

I find this passage very relevant to me right now because, to be honest I could do a lot better in my prayer life. Being human comes with a great level of weakness. With sin looking so “good” and us being so easily swayed, it’s hard to keep on the straight and narrow. The good thing is, God knows that. He knows we are weak, He know we fall easily to temptation, that’s why He sent His son.

In the beginning of this passage, Jesus is praying for God to take the cup from Him but after He came back to find Peter and the 2 sons of Zebedee sleeping, He goes up to pray and says, “My Father, if it is not possible for this cup to be taken away unless I drink it, may your will be done.” This to me is an indication of  Him accepting that we are flawed and that without Him drinking of the cup (dying on the cross), we as human beings wouldn’t have a chance of making it to heaven.

I am humbled by this passage, knowing how much He loved me. Choosing to die because He knew if He didn’t I would be doomed to an eternity in hell. Staying up praying for hours, for me. There is no greater love than that.

So I choose this,   “Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”  because to be honest there is no better advice.


Leave a Reply

